Donald Trump elected 45th U.S. President; Colorado votes for Clinton


Darryl Glenn (R), candidate for U.S. Senate, greets a supporter at his election headquarters in Colorado Springs, Tuesday night (Chad Franzen/Under the Flatirons).

COLORADO SPRINGS — Billionaire Donald Trump (R) was elected 45th president of the United States, Tuesday night, after he collected victories in key swing states to garner the necessary 270 electoral votes to beat former Sen. Hillary Clinton (D).

El Paso County Public Works Director Jim Reid watched the election coverage from U.S. senatorial candidate Darryl Glenn’s election headquarters in Colorado Springs.

“He’s not a typical politician,” Reid said of Trump.  Reid praised Trump for his straightforward manner.

A majority of Colorado voters voted for Clinton, and Clinton received more popular votes nationwide, but Trump won just enough votes in key swing states to win the Electoral College.

Glenn supporters cheered when the television broadcasters projected Trump as the winner of swing states like Florida, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Ohio.  A victory in Pennsylvania sent Trump over the 270 electoral vote requirement.

Incumbent Michael Bennet (D) beat Glenn in the race for U.S. Senate.  Multiple media outlets have projected Benet’s victory, and Bennet has delivered an acceptance speech, but Glann has said he will not concede until he has an official vote tally on Wednesday.

Diana DeGette (D) will serve an additional term in the 1st Congressional District, after she defeated Casper Stokham (R).  Stokham is an Air Force veteran, who drives for Uber and Lyft five nights per week.

Jared Polis (D) was elected to a fifth term, in the 2nd Congressional District, as voters chose him over Nicholas Morse (R).

In District 3, voters elected incumbent Scott Tipton (R) over former senator Gayle Schwartz (D, who had a late fundraising surge in the months prior to the election.

Incumbent Ken Buck (R) was the winner in District 4 over Bob Seay (D).  Buck has vowed to continue his fight to reduce spending during his next term.

Incumbent Doug Lamborn will serve a sixth term, in District 5, after he won the majority vote over Misty Plowright (D).

District 6 featured a heated contest between incumbent Mike Coffman (R) and Morgan Carroll (D).  Coffman collected over 50 percent of the vote to secure a victory.

Incumbent Ed Perlmutter (D) was victorious, in District 7, over George Anthanasopoulos (R).