Boulder Farmer’s Market cultivates political opinion in addition to veggies and fruit

One of the most popular places to be on a warm Saturday is the Boulder Farmer’s Market, and it is an event I always seem to miss. The people of Boulder often march to their own beat, and sometimes it doesn’t match up with the tunes I play.

Factor that together with having to interview people I don’t know, and a recipe for potentially awkward conversations arrives. However, awkwardness tends to build character, so seeking out interviewees with varying political perspectives started in earnest around 11 a.m this past Saturday.

There are people that most of us avoid when out and about, and those people are called canvassers. After walking around the market, I approached a few canvassers to ask their opinions on the current presidential election, as well as other political topics.

Jared, 32, from Boulder, and Becca, 22, from Denver, were actually fairly easy to speak to. After they confirmed I was registered to vote in Colorado (which I am), they encouraged me to sign up to get a reminder to vote on Election Day. This is where I decided to ask their views on the upcoming elections.

Jared appeared to dislike both Hilary Clinton and Donald Trump because he said neither candidate is really representing the people.

Jill Stein appears to be who Becca is leaning toward in the presidential race, although she felt strongly about local elections, stating “state elections are what people should pay more attention to.”

After discussing this a bit more, they got back to canvassing, and I looked for my next interview.

This is where things slowed down, and after an hour of no luck, I went to go eat at the Boulder Dushanbe Tea House, which is where I encountered my next interview. Jourdan, 24, pharmacist tech, her sister Tessa, 21, a student, and their mother, 48, are all from Lakewood. After overhearing them speaking about the presidential election, I asked for their opinions on the upcoming election. Jourdan hopes candidates will focus on healthcare reform, education, and jobs.

“I feel like Donald Trump is a total joke. I feel like Clinton isn’t honest but she is a career politician and I feel like she would be better suited to handle a national crisis,” Jourdan said.

“I think local is important but I don’t have much experience or exposure with local politics,” Tessa said.

From what information I gathered on Saturday, it was encouraging to see just how ripened perspectives are with the general election right around the corner.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

